ATAD Board - Minutes of ANNUAL Meeting

July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018

FINAL

Present: Sharon Garofanello, Dean Ekberg, Marina Sweany, Peggy Lull, Alicia Ward, Tonya Thompson, Bob Wason, Sue Isgrigg, MJ Stark.

Call to order: The meeting was called to order at 7:07 PM by President, Sharon Garofanello

Minutes of previous annual meeting: The Board voted to approve the Minutes of last year's meeting, from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017 with all corrections made.

Motions of substance: Iva Doser

There are no motions of substance passed during 2017-18 for example, no new programs, contracts, or legal agreements were added to ATAD.

Treasurer's report: Dean Ekberg

A budget proposal for the 2018-2019 Fiscal Year will be presented for discussion and a vote at the meeting.

Policies and Procedures Committee:

The committee revised the International Student Permission to Travel form.

Americans Overseas: Peggy Lull

Four AOs traveled for the 2017-2018 school year. We had one semester student in Rennes, one summer student in Majorca, and one summer student in Krakow. In addition, one student intended to be a year student in Caltanissetta, however due to difficulties with the Italian government, the student spent a 3-month visit during the school year attending school in Caltanissetta.

No students applied as AO for 2018-2019

Host Families:

No report.

Fundraising: Bob Wason

The annual fund-raising letter was sent out on Dec. 1, 2016. Many thanks to Peggy Lull: she and her daughter, Suzanna, provided the lead paragraph. As usual, Dean Ekberg's technical expertise in production and distribution was invaluable. Presumably, his report will provide details on the fund-raising results the letter had.

Website Development: George Morgan

Nothing new to report.

State Department: Sue Isgrigg

Four International Students were registered with the State Department, three full year and one semester. Four required reports were filed on time. They are the Annual Report, Change of Placement Report, Fall Student Report and Second Semester Student Report. The State

Department discontinued the online annual training. We will conduct our own annual training in February each year.

CSIET:

No report.

Outreach: Tonya Thompson

Amendment was made to Gary Simon Memorial Scholarship Winner – RCSD and Runner up

Activities: Barb Pellicano

No report.

Programs:

Bamako: Alicia Ward

No report

Wurzburg: Bob Wason

No activity report for the year as there were no students for 2016-2017 school year.

Arequipa: Tom Greiner

One student - Javier Alonso Espino Blair

Iquitos: Barb Pellicano

There were no students from Iquitos in 2017-2018

Novgorod: Marina Sweany

Alina Kondratyeva went to Brockport Highschool in 2017 18 school year. She stayed with one family and had a good experience.

Rennes: Elaine Morel

Nothing to report.

Krakow: Randy Peacock

No annual report.

Majorca: Joanne Funk

No report

Caltanissetta: Rosalba Pisaturo

No report.

Nominations: Barb Pellicano

The following people are not continuing on the board:

- Joanne Funk Majorca
- Tom Greiner Arequipa

Board members whose terms are up and have agreed to continue are:

- -Marina Sweany Chair, Novgorod
- Tonya Thompson Outreach
- -Barbara Pellicano Chair, Iquitos

New Board Member – Leslie Hoffman-Hall – Chair, Arequipa

The following memtner have agreed to be nominated for officer positions. This is our slate of officers for this coming year:

- Sharon Garofanello President 2nd term
- Iva Doser Secretary
- Peggy Lull Americans Overseas and Policies and Procedures Chair
- Deb Alwell is taking the State Department
- Sue Isgrigg Host Families

Available positions on the Board:

Chair, Rennes Chair, Majorca Activities

The meeting was adjourned June 5, 2018 at 7:39.PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Alicia Ward for Iva Doser